Stolen Camera

Hi everybody,
I don’t have as much to talk about this week, but I do want to share one crazy story.
After my email last week, we went to play touch rugby as is our P-Day tradition this transfer.  The park we play at has a skate park nearby, which some of the missionaries enjoy as well.  While we were playing rugby, I noticed a small crowd of boys maybe between 12-15 years old, hanging out right next to our stuff.  We didn’t pay any mind to it though and kept playing.  But, when we stopped, I came to my backpack looking for my camera.  It wasn’t in its pocket anymore.  I searched the rest of the backpack.  Gone.  I checked my wallet.  My cash was gone too.  Stolen.
“What happened?”  The others asked.
“My camera got stolen, and some money too.”
“Who took it?”
“Probably those kids over there.”  They were over at the skate park now.
We all thought for a second, and then Elder Kau’i, one of the assistants, said, “Okay.  Let’s go.”
So this mob of about 8 tall 19-22 year old Elders walks straight up to the kids and asks, “Did any of you guys take a camera?”  They said no, and we asked to search their stuff.  They turned out their pockets, opened up their backpacks, everything.  Not there.  Some of them had cigarettes.  Then, on the other side of the park, Elder Manuel opened up another bag and pulled out my blue camera.  I could tell it was mine straightaway.
One of the kids said, “That’s my bag!”
“Where’s the cash?” we asked.
“I don’t know!  I didn’t take it!” he insisted.
“You didn’t take it?  So how did it get in your bag?”
“I don’t know!  Who took the camera?!  Who’s got the money?”
Nobody was confessing.  So, I called the police.  They arrived about 5 minutes later, we told them what happened, and they searched all the kids again.  It turned out that the boy who had the camera in his bag didn’t take it, another boy had put it there.  He got handcuffed and taken to the police station.  They still haven’t found the cash, but honestly, I don’t care.  I just didn’t want my camera with all my pictures gone.
It was pretty intense, and totally threw off the day, but now I’ll be more careful with concealing my valuables.
We also had a missionary, our Zone Leader Elder Sorenson, get really sick.  He was in the hospital for 5 days.  They thought it was typhoid fever for a while, but it turned out to be something else that’s similar.  He got it because he’s been trying to lose weight by going on a juice diet.  Too many carrots.  Poor guy.
I’ve been struggling with illnesses that have made it difficult for me to work properly.  I can’t go into details, but I’ll be okay eventually.  Just keep me in mind, keep supporting like you always have.  This week has been very hectic trying to make proper arrangements, and at this point it seems the only other thing that will help is just time.  I may not be able to post public updates every week, but I’ll try to get the highlights out there.  Thank you for your concern and understanding.  I love you all.
-Elder Scott Baker
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

