Doubled Out – again…

January 23, 2011

Hello everyone,

I can’t really explain everything that’s happened this week for the sake of respect.  I’ll try to summarize the main points so you understand at least why things are the way they are.

We’re getting doubled out of Dandenong.  I’m not too happy about that, because a) I really like the area, it’s a real hotspot, b) I was just beginning to know the people here, c) Tuvao is here, which has just been cool.  Elder Savelio doesn’t want to leave either, but that’s just the way it is.  The other companionships in my district are all doubling out/going home as well except Hampton Park (Elders Talataina and Hawkins) so big changes are once again here.

Elder Savelio and I had more troubles this week.  We’ve both been trying to make it easier for each other, and we’re both capable missionaries.  It just seems like we’re incompatible, in terms of culture and personality.  We’ve been trying to get on the same page, but we haven’t really been able to fix the problems.  I feel embarrassed that I haven’t been able to solve the problems, but I guess some people just can’t click.  President didn’t want us to leave this transfer, but there’s really no point in continuing the tension when the whole transfer has been a mess.

I love Elder Savelio.  I have a lot of respect for him.  He’s taught me a lot about persistence, boldness, and also enjoying yourself.  He’s helped me better understand the duties of a leader.  I’m glad I got to spend this transfer working with him.  I just wish it could have turned out better.

We had a great lesson with a guy named Fred, from Bosnia.  He grew up there in communism where they just tell him there is no God.  He’s never had any reason to believe in God, but he’s curious to know how and why.  Elder Hawkins and I came to him and he just let us right in.  He offered us a beer and a smoke.  Haha!  It was a great conversation with him.  We left him Alma 32 in the Book of Mormon to read.  We’ll get the next Elders to give him a copy in Croatian later.

There’s really not much else to report.  I miss you all, but I’m glad everybody is okay.  I love you!  Take care.
-Elder Scott Baker


Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

